Serious Question: How To Make New Friends In Singapore?

As I am currently so free, everyday I wake up with questions like what should I do today, where should I go. And being an introvert who mostly spend my time alone, I feel like having a friend who’s also looking and enjoy doing the same thing would be nice.

I was thinking that there’s no way that I’m the only person in the world who has this thought. There should be people out there who are also lonely and would love to make friends. It’s just that they don’t know how or where to look, especially if they’re also a not-so-social butterfly like dis moi right here.

Since I moved to Singapore, my only so-called friends were my previous colleagues. But I can’t say that they’re the type of friends that hangs out here and there. I think colleague is colleague, it’s more of a work thing. I do become friends with two of them, but one moved back to Japan and the other one is currently busy with her new role.

I have other friend, but she’s currently spending more time with her boyfriend.

I’d love to go maybe stroll on the beach, picnic, chill at a cafe or just people-watching somewhere. I’m not looking for someone who’d play air soft gun, because I’ve no interest in that kind of activity.

I love journaling, anything art related. I like to talk about life, not about financial or politics. I of course can’t resist some shopping, or window shopping.

I tried joining yoga class, and sewing class, hoping that I’d find someone to talk but they all seem to mind their own business and left after class.

My mom can talk to even stranger who sit beside her outside the supermarket and get some life story from them. Why am I like this then? #seriousquestion

So, if any of you happen to live in Singapore and have the same feeling about finding new friends. Hit me up maybe? We can hang at Marina Bay Sands and drink Mr. Coconut.

Leave a comment